Home Page

The mission of the Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES) at the University of Arizona College of Medicine – Tucson is to create and sustain a diverse community of scholars dedicated to excellence and innovation in medical education.


Medical Education Research Day

If you are a faculty, fellow, resident, medical student or staff member engaged in medical education research, you are invited to submit an abstract to present your poster at the 6th Annual Medical Education Research Day on April 19, 2019 12-3pm. Deadline to submit is April 1, 2019.

This event is hosted by the College of Medicine - Tucson Curricular Affairs Office in collaboration with the Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES).
For more information, contact Karen Spear-Ellinwood at kse@email.arizona.edu, or Jerie Schulz, 626-8074, jschulz25@medadmin.arizona.edu


AMES Grants to Support Medical Education Research

As part of its commitment to excellence and innovation in medical education, the Academy of Medical Education Scholars (AMES) will fund a new round of grants to support education-related research at the College of Medicine. Eligibility includes College of Medicine faculty members, fellows, residents, and medical students who are sponsored by a faculty member. AMES expects to award up to five grants in 2019-2020.

These grants are intended to support either the development and assessment of new or improved teaching modalities or assessment of the effectiveness of teaching modalities currently in use. Funds may be requested for technical/analytical support (e.g., software development, statistical support) and for well-justified supplies and equipment, but not for travel or for investigators' salaries.  Applicants are encouraged, but not required, to consult or collaborate with an AMES member (listed below) when preparing their proposals.

The application deadline is 12:00 pm, Wednesday, October 9th, 2019.  Funds must be spent or transferred by the end of the academic year - June 30th, 2020. Investigators are required to present their preliminary results at the Medical Education Research Day in the spring and must provide a written final report on the results of their projects by September 1st, 2020. Failure to complete this requirement will disqualify the researcher from consideration of any future AMES grants.